Richmond Home

ESL Workshops

The Center for English as a Second Language periodically holds academic workshops designed to improve international students’ understanding of American language and culture. The workshops are informal and typically present a video and a follow-up discussion. Regardless of whether students are taking formal ESL courses, participation in the center’s workshops can be a great way to learn in a more casual setting and meet other international students.

Examples of Past Workshops

  • Academic Writing
  • Academic Reading
  • Idioms in the Sitcom “Friends”
  • Dating in the U.S.
  • “Crash” and Racism in the U.S.
  • Learning New Words
Contact the ESL Center

Location
Carole Weinstein International Center
Room 103M
28 Westhampton Way
University of Richmond, Va 23173
(804) 484-1457

Center Hours

Chanel Adams     
chanel.adams@richmond.edu   
Monday-Thursday 10-11 a.m.
And by appointment

Savannah Gillespie
savannah.gillespie@richmond.edu
Tuesday and Thursday 7-9 p.m.

Elliott Hammer     
elliott.hammer@richmond.edu 
Tuesday 5-7 p.m.
Thursday 3-5 p.m.

Nalina Nop
nalina.nop@richmond.edu
Monday 4-6 p.m.
Wednesday 11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Kerrie Riley           
kerrie.riley@richmond.edu       
Tuesday 3-5 p.m.
Friday 11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Director of ESL Services
Dr. Nuray Grove
Office: (804) 287-6305
Fax: (804) 287-6446
ngrove@richmond.edu