Contested Frequencies: Sonic Representation in the Digital Age

February 22-24, 2019
University of Richmond

Contested Frequencies is a part of a yearlong festival hosted by the University of Richmond Music Department, entitled Beyond Exoticism. The conference will extend the festival’s focus on issues of aesthetic decolonization, appropriation, borrowing, and influence within the context of contemporary music, broadly conceived. This multidisciplinary meeting will feature scholarly and creative contributions in the form of research presentations, performances, and new commissions. The conference will kick off with a performance by the Richmond Symphony Orchestra presenting new work by Reena Esmail and Shirish Korde.

Keynote Speaker

Dr. Guthrie Ramsey, Professor of Music, University of Pennsylvania

Guthrie P. Ramsey, Jr. is a musicologist, pianist, composer and the Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Term Professor of Music at the University of Pennsylvania. He will present a keynote talk entitled: "Hide/Melt/Ghost: Writing the Early History of African American Music."

Confirmed Presenters

Dr. Dylan Robinson, Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Arts, Queen's University
"On Decolonial Listening"

Dr. Andrew McGraw, Associate Professor of Music, University of Richmond
"Mapping the Sonic Geography of Social Change in Richmond Virginia"

Dr. Mary Caton Lingold, Assistant Professor of English, Virginia Commonwealth University
"Performance Possibilities: Digital Repatriation and the Musical Archives of Slavery"

Bertram D. Ashe (University of Richmond)

Landon Bain (University of California San Diego)

Daniel Castelblanco (Elon University)

Victoria Clark (University of Virginia)

James Deaville (Carleton University)

Reena Esmail

Erin Fulton (University of Kentucky)

Kate Galloway (Wesleyan University)

David Kirkland Garner (University of South Carolina)

Andrew Kluth (UCLA)

Toru Momii (Columbia University)

Marissa Glynias Moore (Yale University)

Juliana Pistorius (University of Huddersfield)

Kendra Salois (American University)

Waewdao Sirisook (Chiang Mai University)

Allison Smith (Boston University)
Sarmistha Talukdar (Virginia Commonwealth University)

Lee Veeraraghavan (University of Pennsylvania)

David Wolfson (Hunter College)

Paige Zalman (West Virginia University)

Conference Fees

There are no registration fees. All activities are free and open to the public.


Conference Committee

Professor Andrew McGraw, (University of Richmond)
Professor Dylan Robinson (Queen’s University)
Professor Joanna Love (University of Richmond)
Professor Jessie Fillerup (University of Richmond / Aarhus University)
Professor Benjamin Broening (University of Richmond)